Talking Elephant

  1. Homepage
  2. /
  3. Shop
  4. /
  5. Steeleye Span
  6. /
  7. Please To See The King

Please To See The King

Please To See The King is the second album by Steeleye Span, released in 1971. A major personnel change following their previous effort, Hark! The Village Wait, brought about a substantial change in their overall sound, including a lack of drums and the replacement of one female vocalist with a male vocalist. The band even reprised a song from their debut, “The Blacksmith”, with a strikingly different arrangement making extensive use of syncopation

The title of the album is derived from the “Cutty Wren” ceremony. A winter wren in a cage is paraded as if it were a king. This rite was carried out on December 26, Saint Stephen’s Day, and is connected to early Christmas celebrations. The song “The King”, appearing on the album, addresses this, and is often performed as a Christmas carol.

Buy Now





1. The Blacksmith
2. Cold, Haily, Windy Night
3. Jigs: O’lynn/ The Hag With The Money
4. Prince Charlie Stuart
5. Boys Of Bedlam
6. False Knight On The Road
7. The Lark In The Morning
8. Female Drummer
9. The King
10. Lovely On The Water