Talking Elephant

  1. Homepage
  2. /
  3. Shop
  4. /
  5. Ashley Hutchings
  6. /
  7. By Gloucester Docks I Sat Down And Wept, A Love...

By Gloucester Docks I Sat Down And Wept, A Love Story (LP)

Click here for the digital version.

Or buy the LP Version below.

Ashley Hutchings wonderful classic, remastered and released for the first time on 180g Vinyl with Gatefold Sleeve. Originally released in 1987 on the Paradise and Thorns label and unavailable for many years we are pleased to see Ashley’s masterpiece made available once more.

This album has been classed as Mr Hutchings Masterpiece by many. “When I first heard this wonderful piece, I knew I was hearing something that was not just heartfelt and personal, but beautiful, original, and fresh. 26 years on, I have still heard nothing remotely like it”. – Simon Nicol (Fairport Convention).

Buy Now




1. Prologue – I Dreamed A Dream (died For Love)
2. Ring On Her Finger
3. Dancing Under The Rose – Again
4. What! Must I Now Make An Enemy / Under The Rose
5. Keep You Warm
6. Ten Reasons Why They Should Be Together
7. At the Women’s Institute / Flower arranging
8. We Walked In God’s Country
9. A Letter / Small Town Romance

1. Don’t Look Back
2. In The Cafe
3. Brief Encounters
4. Westonbirt Sonnett / T Stands For Thomas
5. My Dearest / To Ireland I Made My Way
6. Lies
7. My Dear Friend/Dives And Lazarus – The Blacksmith
8. I Don’t Go Dancing Anymore
9. Love Stuff And Nonsense
10. Epilogue – Died For Love