Talking Elephant

Street Cries

Click here for the digital version.

Or buy the CD Version below.

Described as “the single most important figure in English folk rock” by Bob Dylan, Ashley Hutchings continues to review and re-appraise his earlier works to make them even more relevant to today’s audience. Ashley Hutchings is set to re-present ‘Street Cries’ his unique album of dark traditional songs re-cast in the 21st century.

Originally released in 2001 by Topic Records the album was originally described by the late John Peel as “truly great” and Hutchings himself considers this to be one of his top five albums. Traditional songs re-interpreted by Hutchings to make the stories immediately understandable to the modern day audience. Ashley’s cast of performers reads like a who’s who of the folk genre. Famed for his many collaborations Hutchings has carefully chosen specific artists for each track. Their individual interpretations of Ashley’s versions bring each storyline to life, their unique styles immediately recognisable. All styles are represented – the jovial jauntiness of Vin Garbutt, the brooding sombreness of Steve Knightley, Dick Gaughan and June Tabor, the delicate lamenting of Cara Dillon, the jazzy ambience of Helen Watson and Pete Zorn, amongst many more. The result is an album of stories that demand more than a passing listen.

Hutchings’ creative re-telling of the stories, the artists’ individual performances and ‘Banksy’ inspired cover artwork completes the transformation to the modern idiom. But for those who have an interest in the original versions Hutchings has included the titles and lyrics of the original traditional song in the new booklet. In doing so he en

Buy Now





1. Doing Time To Fit Your Crime
2. Damn The Day
3. He’s Young But He’s Growing
4. Young Henry Martin
5. Salford Girls
6. He Ran Out Of Road
7. Endless Pages
8. A Drummer Won My Love
9. Three Jolly Burglars
10. The Shape Of A Girl
11. These Cold Lips
12. I’m A Poor Dressmaker