Talking Elephant

Velvet Darkness

Velvet Darkness is the first studio album by guitarist Allan Holdsworth, released in 1976 and now remastered for Taklking Elephant with bonus alternate takes.

Allan Holdsworth was a British guitarist and composer. He released twelve studio albums as a solo artist and played a variety of musical styles in a career spanning more than four decades, but is best known for his work in jazz fusion. Holdsworth was cited as an influence by a host of rock, metal and jazz guitarists such as Eddie Van Halen, Joe Satriani, Yngwie Malmsteen. Frank Zappa once lauded him as “one of the most interesting guys on guitar on the planet”, while Robben Ford has said: “I think Allan Holdsworth is the John Coltrane of the guitar. I don't think anyone can do as much with the guitar as Allan Holdsworth can.

Buy Now





1. Good Clean Filth
2. Floppy Hat
3. Wish
4. Kinder
5. Velvet Darkness
6. Karzie Key
7. Last May
8. Gattox
9. Good Clean Filth (alternate Take)
10. Kinder (Alternate Take)
11. Velvet Darkness (alternate Take)
12. Karzie Key (alternate Take)
13. Gattox (alternate Take)