Talking Elephant

When We Were Very Young

‘WHEN WE WERE VERY YOUNG’ A wonderful chance to reflect on days gone by After Fairport Convention called it a day in 1979, Dave Swarbrick and Simon Nicol joined forces and spent the early eighties playing folk clubs throughout the country as an acoustic duo. Their repertoire was drawn from various sources – including Fairport’s, Swarb’s late seventies/early eighties solo albums and also several tracks that were individual to the duo. The acoustic duo proved popular and recorded three albums. This wonderful 2CD collection of previously unreleased material shows the sort of repertoire they were able to use and how popular they became on their few years together as a duo. Fairport reformed again in 1985 with Simon and have become one of the countries hardest working/touring bands ever since.

Buy Now





1. Time To Ring Some Changes
2. Pittengardener’s Rant / The Floggin’
3. The Dogs They Had A Party
4. Carolan’s Farewell
5. After The Thrill
6. Democratic Rage / The Constitution / President Garfield’s
7. She Is Woman
8. Merry Boys Of Greenland / Ollafjord Jack / Villafjord
9. The Young Black Cow / Lord Inchiquin
10. John Barleycorn
11. The Hens March To The Midden / The Four Poster Bed


1. Close To The Wind
2. Royal Selection No.5
3. Rosie
4. Teddy Bear’s Picnic
5. Pavanne
6. Humours Of Cappa / Tobyn’s Favourite / Rakish Paddy
7. The Poor Ditching Boys
8. End Of A Holiday
9. Lord Hadda’s Favourite / Lady Mary Haye’s Scotch Measure
10. Sloth